Skip to main content Newberry College
Banner Image

Wessels Library - Welcome

FINDING BOOKS, ARTICLES....

Getting Started

Wessels Library has resources to assist you with your research assignments.   They are a combination of print materials available within the library and e-books, journals and databases available online.
Do I need my student ID card to check-out materials? 

You can use the library, computers and the online library resources on-campus without having an ID. However, you will need a valid student ID:

  • To check out books or other library materials from Wessels Library or the Partnership for South Carolina Academic LIbraries (PASCAL)
  • To check out items put on reserve
  • To print/photocopy items.  

How do I access the databases and other online resources from off campus?

You will need a username and password for off campus access.  This information is posted in Wolf Den - just look for Library Off-Campus Access after login. You may also call the library: (803) 321-5229 or email: wessels.library@newberry.edu for this information.  

 What if I am not sure what I need or how to find it?

Just Ask Us! We are here to help you with your library research needs. 

Useful Library Terms 

ABSTRACT: a brief summary of an article or a book

ACADEMIC/SCHOLARLY JOURNAL: a publication of research articles in an academic subject area

ARCHIVES: a collection of historical documents

CALL NUMBER: the numbers and letters on the spine of a book that help you locate the book on the shelf

CIRCULATING COLLECTION: books that can be checked out

EBOOK (ELECTONIC BOOK):  an electronic version of a book you can read from a computer or mobile device

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES: the library’s collection of resources you can access via your computer or mobile device

FULL TEXT: A library database often contains brief entries and abstracts.  The term “full-text” lets you know that the complete text of an article is available.

LIBRARY DATABASE: a searchable collection of information available online - A library database can provide articles, newspapers, ebooks, videos or images in a variety of subject areas.

LIBRARY WEBSITE: the starting point for information about the library and for all of your library research

OFF CAMPUS/REMOTE ACCESS: accessing the library’s electronic resources when you are not on campus - Off campus access requires the use of a username and password.

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOG: an online searchable listing of all of your library’s resources

PASCAL BOOKS: Borrow books from other SC colleges with an easy search from the library website. You pick these books up at the Front Desk.

PEER TUTOR: a student who assists other students needing help in a subject

PERIODICALS: journals, magazines and newspapers—they arrive at the library “periodically”

REFERENCE: a special kind of book or ebook that provides important background information on topics -Reference books cannot be checked out of the library.

RESERVE: information your teacher put on hold for you at the front desk of the library

SEARCH TERMS: words entered into the search box of a database or search engine when you are looking for information - Terms can be combined in various ways to help you find the information you need.

WRITING CENTER: a location in the library where students can get help with their writing projects for all classes and subjects

How do I find find what books are in the library? 

To find a book, ebook, DVD or other library material, select the FIND BOOKS tab on the library homepage.   You can search the Wessels Library catalog by keyword as well as title, author, subject, ISBN, series or call number.  For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library.

eBooks retrieved by your search have a slightly different look in the library catalog. For an eBook, you may see something like this:

The ideas in things [electronic resource] fugitive meaning in the Victorian novel / Elaine Freedgood.

by Freedgood, Elaine | NetLibrary, Inc.

Publisher: Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2006

Online access: CLICK HERE FOR FULL TEXT

Availability: Items available for loan: WESSELS LIBRARY (1).

Location(s): Online PR788 .M37 F74 2006 EB.

Use the CLICK HERE FOR FULL TEXT link to read your selected eBook anywhere, any time

FYI - You may need a username and password to read the eBooks from off-campus.  See the Getting Started tab. 

How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf? 

A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.  In this library, our call numbers use a mix of letters and numbers.  The letters indicate the subject area.  For example, call numbers beginning with an E are for books about United States history.  Reference books include "REF" before the call number to indicate its item type and location within the library. 

The following applies to most of our collection: 

  • Items with call numbers beginning with A through K are on the upper level 
  • Items with call numbers beginning with L through Z are on the lower level 

New books, reference books, DVDs, childrens's books, and popular fiction are located on the main floor of the library. 

 

 

 I am required to use scholarly articles as sources for my assignments.  What do I do?  How do I find them? 

There are several ways you can find the appropriate articles for your assignments.  The best way is to utilize the library’s databases which include articles from magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers.  You can easily limit your search to full-text academic or scholarly journals within each database.  

From the Databases tab on the homepage.  

  • Select the tab and then click Go To A-Z list.  
  • Click on the All Subjects dropdown menu to see the databases organized by subject - such as: Music, Nursing, or Sports Professions.  
  • Databases marked as Best Bets are the most useful for that subject area. 
  • You can also browse databases or search for a database by title from the A-Z Databases page. 

**Want to know the difference between a scholarly journal article and a general magazine article?  Take a look at this short YouTube video created by the Hartness Library serving CCV and Vermont Tech.

Loading