Skip to main content Newberry College
Newberry College

HIS 300A: Visions of Vietnam - Making Sense of the Vietnam War: Spring 2019: Welcome

Useful Tips

When searching for information in our library databases, consider adding terms together:  

  • ​vietnam war and causes
  • vietnam war and effects 
  • vietnam war and international relations
  • vietnam war and international politics 
  • vietnam war and propaganda 
  • chicago seven and vietnam war 
  • buddhist protests and diem 
  • vietnamese conflict 

Also experiment by searching subjects first, rather than keywords.

Contact a Librarian

Reid Austin
works mostly 9-5

Angie Rachels
works mostly 10-3

Accessing Library Resources Off-Campus

Are you off campus? Are you being asked for a username and password to access online articles or ebooks?
 
  1. In a separate tab, login to Wolf Den.
  2. On the first page of Wolf Den, you will see the username and password.

 

Find Background Information

Find Books. After searching, limit on left side to "Books."

Ebook Collections

PASCAL

Find books at other academic libraries in South Carolina:

 

General Databases

History Database Sources

Biography Database Sources

Related Discipline Database Sources

CITING SOURCES

Why do I need to cite my sources? 

When you write a research paper, you use facts, information and ideas from various sources to support your own ideas and develop new ones. Books, print articles, DVDs, electronic information from databases, interviews, and Web sites are examples of sources you might use. Citing your sources is vital because citations:

  • make clear who the author of the original work is/was 
  • provide your audience with the necessary information to identify and locate the source material 
  • make your paper more credible because you support your arguments with quality sources
  • ensure you are not committing academic dishonesty by plagiarizing

What is plagiarism and is it serious? 

Plagiarism is a form of cheating in which you use another's words or ideas as if they were your own.  Plagiarism can result in failure of an assignment or even failure of a course. Repeated plagiarism may result in expulsion.

How do I avoid plagiarizing? 

Whenever you use an author's exact language in your paper, make certain to use quotation marks to indicate what words are the author's and then cite the quotation. When you change the author's words to your paraphrase the author's ideas, make certain you cite. 

Citation Help: 

OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab

MLA - Modern Language Association (web page)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - Eighth Edition (Reference LB2369 .G53 2016) 

APA - American Psychological Association (web page)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - Sixth Edition (Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010)