Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

The College Archives serves as the official repository for records and papers of permanent institutional value as well as selected other items associated with the history of Newberry College. For an appointment to visit the Archives Reading Room or to speak to Dr. J. Tracy Power, Newberry College Archivist, please email archives@newberry.edu

The Special Collections of Newberry College consist of books, pamphlets, and maps emphasizing Southern and South Carolina history, the history of the Lutheran Church, and the personal collections of Newberry College faculty and administrators. To visit the Special Collections Reading Room please email Nancy Rosenwald, Director of Special Collections, at special.collections@newberry.edu

The most important function of both the Archives Reading Room and the Special Collections Research Room is to provide study space for researchers who are using the non-circulating rare materials. We ask that visiting researchers who wish to use any of our collections make an appointment at least five business days in advance of a proposed visit.

The Archives Reading Room is located on the lowest level of Wessels Library on the Newberry College campus.  For additional information  please email Dr. J. Tracy Power, Newberry College Archivist at archives@newberry.edu

The Special Collections Research Room is located at the Center for Teacher Education in the historic Speers Street Elementary School on the Newberry College campus.  For additional information please email Nancy Rosenwald, Director of Special Collections at special.collections@newberry.edu