Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

 

Using the Collections: 

To protect the valuable and unique materials housed within the Newberry College Archives and Special Collections, researchers are required to observe the following rules:

  • Contact Dr. J. Tracy Power, Newberry College Archivist, for information about the Archives: archives@newberry.edu
  • Contact Nancy Rosenwald, Director of Special Collections, regarding Special Collections materials: special.collections@newberry.edu
  • Visitors and researchers must request an appointment at least 5 business days in advance of a proposed visit.
  • Queries requiring research by staff will be answered within 6-8 weeks.
  • Register upon arrival in the Archives Reading Room or Special Collections Room.
  • To ensure the protection of the materials, food and beverages must remain outside of the Reading/Research Room. 
  • Your coat, cell phone, bag, and umbrella will be stored for you outside of the Reading Room/Research Room.
  • Use pencils supplied to you when taking notes.
  • All Archives/Special Collections materials are non-circulating and must be used exclusively in the Reading Room/Research Room.                 
  • Handle all materials carefully. Turn pages gently, place notebooks and note paper on the table surface, never on the items, and ask for assistance when in doubt. Please do not use Post-it notes, insert bookmarks or other papers, or mark materials in any way.
  • Only one box, folder, or book may be consulted at a time. Researchers are asked to handle papers carefully, maintaining their established order in folders, and notifying a staff member if they are out of order. Please also notify staff of any damaged items.
  • Researchers are asked to handle Special Collections with care and use book supports when needed to prevent damage to the bindings.
  • Material may be reproduced in accordance with the policies and procedures of Archives/Special Collections. Scanning, photocopying, or other reproduction of materials will be done by Archives/Special Collections staff. Scan Request forms are available in the Reading Room/Research Room from Archives/Special Collections staff.
  • Researchers must request permission from the professional staff to use digital cameras to take photos. Personal scanners are not permitted due to copyright issues and the fragility of materials.
  • Researchers must fill out and sign a permission form to quote from, take photos of, or use images from Archives or Special Collections.
  • The use of certain manuscripts or other materials may be restricted by statute, by office of origin, or by the donors. The researcher must assume full responsibility for fulfilling the terms connected with any restricted material. For the protection of its collections, Archives/Special Collections also reserve the right to restrict the use of materials which are not processed or in the process of being arranged, materials of exceptional value, and fragile materials.
  • Occasionally, print or digital copies may be substituted for original documents if the material’s condition warrants such a substitution.
  • The Directors of Archives/Special Collections must be present when the Research/Reading Rooms are in use.
  • The Directors reserve the right to refuse any use request that might endanger the safety and security of the collections.