Skip to main content Newberry College
Banner Image

ENG390 Blues Analysis Research Paper (Rachels) - Fall 2018: Welcome

This purpose of this guide is to gather in one place possible resources for your research paper.

Reserves: Ask at the Front Desk to check out items for two hours for in-library use only.

Blues and Gospel Records 1890-1943

This book lists recordings (20,000 titles by more than 3,000 artists) in blues, 1890-1943. This is the source for discovering all the songs of a particular artist.

Talkin' to Myself: Blues Lyrics, 1921-1942

A compendium of lyrics by the great blues recording artists of the pre-war blues era. It includes over 2,000 songs, transcribed directly from the original recordings.

Barrelhouse Words

This compendium explains the most unusual, obscure, and curious words and expressions from vintage blues music (1923-1949).

cover art

Historical Dictionary of American Slang, Vol 1: A-G

The only historical dictionary of slang -- spanning three hundred years of slang use in America.

Cover art

Historical Dictionary of American Slang, Vol. 2: H-O

The only historical dictionary of slang -- spanning three hundred years of slang use in America.

Current Reference Hours

 Monday  10:00 am - 2:00 pm
 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
 Tuesday  10:00 am - 2:00 pm
 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
 Wednesday  10:00 am - 2:00 pm
 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
 Thursday

 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

 Friday 

 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

 Saturday  
 Sunday  

 

During reference hours, a librarian is available to assist with research.

Contact a Librarian

Reid Austin
works late afternoons/evenings

Angie Rachels
works middays

Accessing Library Resources Off-Campus

Want to access the web-based resources of Wessels Library from outside the Newberry College network? Simply select the library link from the college website or Wolf Den, locate your choice of resource from the tabs on the library homepage, and when asked for a login and password, use:

Login: ncstudent

Password: wesselslibrary

General Reference: Start Here for Background Information

FIND BOOKS

PASCAL

Find books at other academic libraries in South Carolina:

 

Ebook Collections

CITING SOURCES

Why do I need to cite my sources? 

When you write a research paper, you use facts, information and ideas from various sources to support your own ideas and develop new ones. Books, print articles, DVDs, electronic information from databases, interviews, and Web sites are examples of sources you might use. Citing your sources is vital because citations:

  • make clear who the author of the original work is/was 
  • provide your audience with the necessary information to identify and locate the source material 
  • make your paper more credible because you support your arguments with quality sources
  • ensure you are not committing academic dishonesty by plagiarizing

What is plagiarism and is it serious? 

Plagiarism is a form of cheating in which you use another's words or ideas as if they were your own.  Plagiarism can result in failure of an assignment or even failure of a course. Repeated plagiarism may result in expulsion.

How do I avoid plagiarizing? 

Whenever you use an author's exact language in your paper, make certain to use quotation marks to indicate what words are the author's and then cite the quotation. When you change the author's words to your paraphrase the author's ideas, make certain you cite. 

Citation Help: 

OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab

MLA - Modern Language Association (web page)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - Eighth Edition (Reference LB2369 .G53 2016) 

APA - American Psychological Association (web page)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - Sixth Edition (Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010)

General Databases

History Database Sources

Free Newspaper Archives

Biographical Databases

Sociology and Psychology