Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

 

J Tracy Power

Assistant Professor of History and Director, College Archives ‚Äč

archives@newberry.edu
Office: Holland Hall 200
Office Phone: 803-321-5217

 

A native of the Atlanta area who has lived in Columbia since 1981, Dr. Power has been a member of the Newberry College faculty since January 2014. He specializes in the Civil War and Reconstruction, the Civil Rights Movement, Southern history, South Carolina history, and public history.  Before coming to Newberry he was a historian with the South Carolina Department of Archives and History in Columbia.  He worked from 1986 to 2013 in the State Historic Preservation Office as co-coordinator of the National Register of Historic Places and coordinator of the South Carolina Historical Marker Program.
His publications include the award-winning Lee’s Miserables: Life in the Army of Northern Virginia from the Wilderness to Appomattox (University of North Carolina Press, 1998) and I Will Not Be Silent And I Will Be Heard: Martin Luther King, Jr., the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Penn Center, 1964-1967 (Topics in African American History Number 2, South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1993).

 

       

Nancy Rosenwald, M.S. in L.S.
Director of Special Collections

special.collections@newberry.edu

A graduate of Furman University with a degree in history, Nancy Rosenwald received a M.A. in Asian history at Wake Forest University. While there, she began her library career as the Assistant to the Curator of Rare Books at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library. She received her professional library degree from Columbia University in NYC and was a member of the university’s rare book program. Professionally, she has managed independent bookshops, and directed school, agency and public libraries. While she was director of the Union County Carnegie Library, the library was named Best Small Library in America by Library Journal (2009). Most recently she served as director of Wessels Library at Newberry College, a position from which she retired in 2017.